Bridging Transportation Researchers (BTR) Conference

Welcome to the first Bridging Transportation Researchers (BTR) Online Conference!


We were delighted to successfully deliver the first online Bridging Transportation Researcher (BTR) Conference, in two concurrent tracks covering 16 peer-reviewed papers. We had presenters from 8 countries, covering 8 main transportation topics in BTR2020.

All presentations can be heard now at these two links (with each paper’s start-time hyperlinked in the Notes section below each YouTube video):

Track 1 – 

Track 2 –  

We look forward to scheduling BTR2021 soon!

Meeting Schedule

Please refer to Time Conversion Guidelines


Wednesday 8 January 2020 | 10:00am – 2:00pm Central time in USA (CST)

·       Transport Research Methods and Big Data

·       Public Transport

·       Future Transport Technologies and MaaS

Join TRACK 1’s Zoom Meeting via, with Meeting ID: 243 662 763.


Wednesday 8 January 2020 | 10:00am – 2:00pm Central time in USA (CST)

·       Traffic Modelling

·       Transport Safety

·       Travel Behaviour and Sustainability

Join TRACK 2’s Zoom Meeting via, with Meeting ID: 448 371 665.

Purpose of the Conference

We are pleased to announce that the first Bridging Transportation Researchers (BTR) Conference will be held online on Wednesday, January 8, 2020, from 10 am to 2 pm in US Central time (CST).

BTR brings transportation engineers and planners together globally and removes the obstruction of travel. We welcome researchers and practitioners from diverse transportation areas, particularly individuals who are unable to obtain a visa or afford traveling to and participating in international conferences.

Conference Dates

Please join us online on January 8, 2020, for one half-day (& free!) two-track Zoom-based meeting.  Zoom links & session details (with 30-minute presentation slots) are sent to all registrants.

Paper Submission Instructions

Full-paper submission deadline was December 1, 2019.

The acceptance paper word limit is 10,000 words. All manuscripts must be written in English and use Harvard style for referencing (

Lead authors are asked to include answers to the following questions in the submission:

  1. What is the reason you are unable to present at Transportation Research Board or other international conferences?
  2. Does the corresponding author accept the review task? If yes, please give us three keywords regarding your areas of expertise .

The full paper should be submitted to the secretariat email via For any further instructions on paper format please visit the conference website at , or contact

Authors are advised to use the paper template given here:

Peer Review

Papers are peer-reviewed, and selected papers are organized into sessions for web-based presentations during the conference. Although the selection criterion is based on the quality of articles, we strongly encourage researchers with visa and financial barriers to submit their full paper.


Any transportation-related areas including but not limited to:

● Multi-modal transportation network and systems
● Freight transport and logistics
● Traffic management, operations, safety and security
● Intelligent Transportation Systems
● Connected and Automated Vehicles
● Travel demand modeling
● Transport, land use, planning and policy
● Safety, environment and sustainability
● Transport economy, econometrics, and behavioral modeling
● Design, construction, and pavement engineering

Organizing Committee

Chair: Prof. Kara Kockelman (The University of Texas at Austin, USA)

Dr. Louis Alcorn (University of Texas at Austin, USA)

Dr. Behrang Assemi (Queensland University of Technology, Australia)

Dr. Alireza Ermagun (Mississippi State University, USA)

Yantao Huang (University of Texas at Austin, USA)

Dr. Elnaz Irannezhad (The University of Queensland, Australia)

Dr. Alex Karner (University of Texas at Austin, USA)

Dr. Jun Liu (University of Alabama, USA)

Dr. Neda Masoud (University of Michigan, USA)

Dr. Mahmoud Mesbah (Amirkabir University of Technology, Iran)

Krishna Murthy Gurumurthy (University of Texas at Austin, USA)

Vahid Salehi (Isfahan University of Technology, Iran)